Minutes of the Organizational Meeting October 17, 2022 – 6:00pm Village of Duchess Council Chambers

Yvonne Cosh – chairTony SteidelDeborah Reid-MicklerTina PrestonStephen DortchShanda Smith

- 1. Oaths of Office were signed and commissioned.
- 2. Selection of the Mayor Yvonne Cosh called for nominations for the Mayoral position. No nominations were received and Councillors agreed that Mayor Steidel should remain in his position.

Tony Steidel was acclaimed Mayor of the Village of Duchess.

Mayor Steidel assumed the Chair position.

3. Selection of the Deputy Mayor – Mayor Steidel called for nominations for the Deputy Mayor position. NO nominations were received and Councillors agreed that Deputy Mayor Deborah Reid-Mickler should remain in her position.

Deborah Reid-Mickler was acclaimed Deputy Mayor of the Village of Duchess.

4. Establishing regular meeting dates, times and location for Council for the next twelve months;

102-22 Deputy Mayor Reid-Mickler motioned that Council meetings will be held: 3<sup>rd</sup> Monday of each month 7pm – 10pm Village of Duchess Council Chambers 103 2<sup>nd</sup> Street East Duchess, Alberta If virtual attendance is necessary it will be held via ZOOM platform Carried Unanimously

5. Establish the remuneration, travel, subsistence and out of pocket expenses to be paid to Council members and members-at large; schedule C attached

103-22 <u>Councillor Smith</u> motioned to accept the remuneration rates as attached:

\$150 per meeting up to 4 hours long
\$250 for meetings over 4 hours long
Mileage of .60 cents per Kilometer outside of the County of Newell
Boundaries.
Meals and lodging will be reimbursed with receipts
Members at large are not paid
Carried Unanimously

- 6. Any such other business as is required by the <u>Act;</u>
- 7. Annual appointment of professionals including but not limited to Assessor, Auditor, Legal Advisor, Engineer, Weed Inspector, CPO's and Banking Services.

104-22 Mayor Steidel motioned for the following appointment of professionals: Assessor – Ryan Vogt - Benchmark Assessments Auditor – Johnson Morrison & Hunter Legal Advisor - Orval Shantz Law & McLennan Ross LLP or as required Engineer – CIMA Planning Commission – Oldman River Regional Service Corporation Accountant – Sharon Zacharias Bylaw Enforcement Officers – Kent Torkelson & John Nesbitt & Devon Leeks Development Officer – Kent Torkelson & John Nesbitt ARB & LARB – County of Newell Committee Inspection Services for Building, Residential & Commercial, gas, plumbing & electrical – Superior Safety Codes Weed Inspector –Todd Green & Summer students as per the submitted list supplied by the County of Newell annually Carried Unanimously

105-22 <u>Councillor Smith</u> motioned to appoint the ATB Brooks Branch – Duchess Agency as the banking institute for the Village of Duchess. – 2 signers are required and may be any of the Councillors together or one Councillor and the CAO for all transactions.

Carried Unanimously

8. the Mayor will lead Council through the Boards & Committees list. If a Councillor wishes to be the representative or alternate on a particular board or committee they must verbally indicate their desire when that board or committee is being addressed. In the case of two or more Councillors wishing to be the representative or alternate to a board or committee, a vote of Council shall be taken, by either show of hands or secret ballot. The voting method shall be determined by show of hands.

## 106-22 <u>Councillor Preston</u> motioned that the following appointments to board and committees. **Carried Unanimously**

Shanda Smith

Tina Preston

**Tony Steidel** 

Stephen Dortch

## Committees

## **Current Representative**

Deborah Reid-Mickler

- 1. Newell Housing Foundation
- 2. Duchess Library
- 3. Shortgrass Library
- 4. FCSS/EXPO/Citizen of the Year
- 5. Newell Regional Solid Waste
- 6. 911
- 7. Newell Regional Services Corp
- 8. Fire
- 9. Agricultural Society
- 10. Recreation / Parks / Cultural
- 11. Mayor & Reeves
- 12. Joint Shared Services
- 13. Palliser Economic Partnership
- 14. ORRSC
- 15. NRTA
- 16. SAEWA
- 17. Emergency Management
- 18. Director of Emergency Management

**Tina Preston** alt Stephen Dortch Deborah Reid-Mickler alt Tony Steidel alt Deborah Reid-Mickler Tony Steidel & Stephen Dortch **Stephen Dortch** alt Tony Steidel Tina Preston/Tony Steidel alt **Tony Steidel** alt Deborah Reid-Mickler **Tony Steidel** alt Deborah Reid-Mickler Deborah Reid-Mickler alt Tony Steidel **Stephen Dortch** alt Tina Preston Shanda Smith alt Tina Preston **Tony Steidel** alt Tina Preston/ Deborah Reid-Mickler

alt Tony Steidel

Alternate

alt Tina Preston

alt Tina Preston

alt Shanda Smith

alt Deborah Reid-Mickler

alt Shanda Smith

- Stewart Luchies -County of Newell

4 | Page

- 19. Deputy Director of Emergency Management Yvonne Cosh Duchess - Sharon Zacharias- Rosemary
  - Amanda Davis Bassano John Nesbitt County of Newell
- 20. Municipal Planning Commission
  21. Intermunicipal Development Plan
  22. Duchess Library Board members
  Tony Steidel, Deborah Reid-Mickler, Tina Preston, Stephen Dortch & Shanda Smith
  Tony Steidel & Deborah Reid-Mickler
  Stephen Dortch Lorraine Saamis, Charmaine Loewen, Yvonne Cosh, Brenda Owen,

- 8. Should a Councillor dispute or disagree with an appointment recommendation, Council as a whole shall debate the appointment and, by majority vote, complete the final determination.
- 9. Establishing any *ad hoc* Council Committees;

No ad hoc committees are required at this time

- 10. Review the Code of Conduct for Elected Officials Bylaw 471-18
- 11. Review the Procedural Bylaw Bylaw 458-14

AUMA attendance was discussed (Mayor Steidel, Councillors Dortch & Smith) as well as the Elected Officials Education Program dates.

## 107-22 Deputy <u>Mayor Reid-Mickler</u> motioned to appoint Yvonne Cosh as the CAO for the Village of Duchess. Carried Unanimously

Schedule "A"

Remuneration

Councillor Remuneration - Meetings on the approved listing attached will be paid at a rate of \$150.00 per meeting under 4 hours and \$250.00 per meeting over 4 hours.

Mileage will be paid for travel outside of the County of Newell boundaries for Council approved meetings at a rate of .60 cents per kilometer.

Attendance at Conferences - Each Councillor may attend 1 conference per year and any others must be approved via motion at a Council meeting.

Additionally, AUMA attendance will include up to 3 Councillors or 2 Councillor and 1 Administrative Staff. Attendance will be on a bi-annual rotation. Councillors that are unable to attend in their year may make arrangements to trade with other Councillors. Out of pocket expenses

Hotels, meals, parking and other expenses will be reimbursed to Councillors and shall be kept to a reasonable amount per Councillor.

Technology Expenses – Councillors will be awarded up to \$1000 per 4 year term for technology. This expense may be to supply an ipad for Council meeting or in the case of a Councillor supplying their own ipad, accessories that may be required to enhance requirements for Council meetings.

Mayor
-------

CAO

Adjourned @ 6:52pm