Minutes of the Organizational Meeting October 23, 2023 – 6:00pm Village of Duchess Council Chambers

Yvonne Cosh – chair Tony Steidel Deborah Reid-Mickler Tina Preston Stephen Dortch Shanda Smith

1. Oaths of Office were signed and commissioned.

2. Selection of the Mayor – Yvonne Cosh called for nominations for the Mayoral position Councillor Reid-Mickler nominated Councillor Tony Steidel.

Tony Steidel accepted.

No more nominations.

Tony Steidel is Mayor of the Village of Duchess.

Mayor Steidel assumed the Chair position.

3. Selection of the Deputy Mayor – Mayor Steidel called for nominations for the Deputy Mayor position Councilor Preston nominated Councillor Debra Reid Mickler.

Councillor Reid-Mickler accepted.

No more nominations

Deborah Reid-Mickler is Deputy Mayor of the Village of Duchess.

4. Establishing regular meeting dates, times and location for Council for the next twelve months;

Councillor Preston motioned that Council meetings will be held: 3rd Monday of each month 7pm – 10pm Village of Duchess Council Chambers - 103 2nd Street East Duchess, Alberta If virtual attendance is necessary, it will be held via ZOOM platform Carried Unanimously

5. Establish the remuneration, travel, subsistence and out of pocket expenses to be paid to Council members and members-at large; schedule C attached

<u>Deputy Mayor Reid-Mickler</u> motioned to accept the remuneration rates as attached:

\$150 per meeting up to 4 hours long and conference travel days over 2 hours \$250 for meetings over 4 hours long Mileage of .60 cents per Kilometer outside of the County of Newell Boundaries.

Meals and lodging will be reimbursed with receipts Members at large are not paid

Carried Unanimously

6. Any such other business as is required by the *Act*;

- 7. Annual appointment of professionals including but not limited to Assessor, Auditor, Legal Advisor, Engineer, Weed Inspector, CPO's and Banking Services.
- <u>Deputy Mayor Reid-Mickler</u> motioned for the following appointment of professionals:

Assessor – Ryan Vogt - Benchmark Assessments

Auditor – Johnson Morrison & Hunter

Legal Advisor – to be agreed on at a later date

Engineer – CIMA

Planning Commission – Oldman River Regional Service Corporation

Accountant – Sharon Zacharias

Bylaw Enforcement Officers - Kent Torkelson & John Nesbitt

Development Officer - Kent Torkelson & John Nesbitt

ARB & LARB - County of Newell Committee

Inspection Services for Building, Residential & Commercial, gas, plumbing & electrical – Superior Safety Codes Weed Inspector –Todd Green & Summer students as per the submitted list supplied by the County of Newell annually

Carried Unanimously

119-23 <u>Councillor Smith</u> motioned to appoint the ATB Brooks Branch – Duchess Agency as the banking institute for the Village of Duchess. – 2 signers are required and may be any of the Councillors together or one Councillor and the CAO for all transactions.

Carried Unanimously

8. The Mayor will lead Council through the Boards & Committees list. If a Councillor wishes to be the representative or alternate on a particular board or committee they must verbally indicate their desire when that board or

committee is being addressed. In the case of two or more Councillors wishing to be the representative or alternate to a board or committee, a vote of Council shall be taken, by either show of hands or secret ballot. The voting method shall be determined by show of hands.

120-23 Councillor Preston motioned that the following appointments to board and committees. Carried Unanimously

Committees	Current Representative	Alternate
 Newell Housing Foundation Duchess Library Shortgrass Library FCSS/EXPO/Citizen of the Year Newell Regional Solid Waste 911 Newell Regional Services Corp Duchess Fire Duchess Agricultural Society Recreation / Parks / Cultural Mayor & Reeves Joint Shared Services Palliser Economic Partnership ORRSC NRTA SAEWA 	Shanda Smith Stephen Dortch Tina Preston Tina Preston Tony Steidel Tina Preston Deborah Reid-Mickler Tony Steidel & Stephen Dortch Stephen Dortch Tony Steidel Tony Steidel Tony Steidel Tony Steidel Tony Steidel Stephen Dortch Shanda Smith Tony Steidel	alt Tina Preston/Deborah Reid-Mickler alt Shanda Smith/Tina Preston alt Deborah Reid-Mickler/ Shanda Smith alt Tony Steidel/Shanda Smith alt Deborah Reid-Mickler/Stephen Dortch alt Stephen Dortch alt Tony Steidel/Stephen Dortch alt Deborah Reid-Mickler/Shanda Smith alt Deborah Reid-Mickler/Shanda Smith alt Shanda Smith/ Tina Preston alt Tina Preston/ Shanda Smith alt Deborah Reid-Mickler alt Deborah Reid-Mickler/Shanda Smith alt Stephen Dortch/Deborah Reid-Mickler alt Shanda Smith/Tina Preston alt Deborah Reid-Mickler/Tina Preston alt Stephen Dortch
17. Emergency Management (REAC)	Tony Steidel	alt Deborah Reid-Mickler/Tina Preston

18. Director of Emergency Management Stewart Luchies -County of Newell 19. Deputy Director of Emergency Management - Yvonne Cosh - Duchess - Sharon Zacharias- Rosemary - Amanda Davis - Bassano Tina Preston/Shanda Smith 20. Subdivision Appeal Board 21. Municipal Planning Commission Tony Steidel, Deborah Reid-Mickler, Tina Preston, Stephen Dortch & Shanda Smith 22. Intermunicipal Development Plan Tony Steidel & Deborah Reid-Mickler alt Tina Preston. 23. Duchess Library Board members Stephen Dortch Lorraine Saamis, Charmaine Loewen, Yvonne Cosh, Brenda Owen, **Amanda Philpott**

- 9. Should a Councillor dispute or disagree with an appointment recommendation, Council as a whole shall debate the appointment and by a majority vote, complete the final determination.
- 121-23 Councillor Smith motioned to defer Library board Appointments to Regular Council meeting.

 Carried Unanimously
 - 11. Review the Code of Conduct for Elected Officials Bylaw 471-18
 - 12. Review the Procedural Bylaw Bylaw 495-21

AUMA attendance was discussed, CAO Yvonne Cosh, Councillors Preston and Reid-Mickler will attend.

- Mayor Steidel motioned to appoint Yvonne Cosh as the CAO for the Village of Duchess.

 Carried Unanimously
- 123-23 Mayor Steidel motioned to move into camera at 7:20 pm
- 124-23 Councillor Preston motioned to come out of camera at 7:40 pm

Schedule "A" Remuneration

Councillor Remuneration - Meetings on the approved listing attached will be paid at a rate of \$150.00 per meeting under 4 hours and \$250.00 per meeting over 4 hours and conference travel days over 2 hours

.

Mileage will be paid for travel outside of the County of Newell boundaries for Council approved meetings at a rate of .60 cents per kilometer.

Attendance at Conferences - Each Councillor may attend 1 conference per year and any others must be approved via motion at a Council meeting.

-Additionally, AUMA attendance will include up to 3 Councillors or 2 Councillor and 1 Administrative Staff. Attendance will be on a bi-annual rotation. Councillors that are unable to attend in their year may make arrangements to trade with other Councillors.

Out of pocket expenses

Hotels, meals, parking and other expenses will be reimbursed to Councillors and shall be kept to a reasonable amount per Councillor.

Technology Expenses – Councillors will be awarded up to \$1000 per 4 year term for technology. This expense may be to supply an ipad for Council meeting or in the case of a Councillor supplying their own ipad, accessories that may be required to enhance requirements for Council meetings.

Deputy Mayor Deborah Reid-Mickler

CAO

Yvonne Cosh

Adjourned @ 7:40pm